VW Caxa engine

The 1.4-liter Volkswagen CAXA 1.4 TSI engine was produced by the company from 2006 to 2016 and was practically installed in all known models of the German company at that time. This engine was the most common model of the first generation TSI engines. The EA111-TSI series includes: CAVD, CBZA, CBZB, BMY, BWK, CAVA, CDGA and CTHA.

Technical specifications of the VW CAXA 1.4 TSI engine with 122 hp.

Exact capacity1390 cm³
Power systemdirect injection
Engine power122 HP
Torque200 nm
Engine blockcast iron R4
Block headaluminum 16v
Cylinder diameter76.5 mm
Piston stroke.75.6 mm
Compression ratio10
Engine featuresDOHC
Hydraulic compensator. tak
Timing drivechain
Timing phase adjusterat the inlet
TurbochargingKKK K03
What oils to use3.6 liters 5W-30
Fuel type98
Environmental classEURO 4/5
Approximate life expectancy275 000 HP

Fuel consumption VW Caxa engine

Using the example of the 2010 Volkswagen Golf with a manual transmission:
City8.2 litry
Route5.1 litry
Mixed6.2 litry

Engine Overview and Common Failures

The weight of the CAXA engine according to the catalog is 130 kg. The engine number CAXA is located at the junction of the block with the gearbox. The most well-known problem is the stretching of the timing chain even at low mileage. Also, the electronic control valve or wastegate often fails in the turbine. The pistons have weak resistance to detonation and crack due to poor fuel quality. When the partitions between the rings are destroyed, it is recommended to buy forged pistons. Residue from low-quality gasoline creates carbon deposits on the valves, leading to compression loss. Owners regularly complain about coolant leaks and engine vibrations when cold.

Engine Vw Caxa

A1 1 (8X)2010 - 2014
Toledo 4 (KG)2012 - 2015
Octavia 2 (1Z)2008 - 2013
Rapid 1 (NH)2012 - 2015
Yeti 1 (5L)2010 - 2015
Golf 5 (1K)2007 - 2008
Golf 6 (5K)2008 - 2013
Golf Plus 1 (5M)2009 - 2014
Eos 1 (1F)2007 - 2014
Jetta 5 (1K)2007 - 2010
Jetta 6 (1B)2010 - 2016
Passat B6 (3C)2007 - 2010
Passat B7 (36)2010 - 2014
Scirocco 3 (137)2008 - 2014
Tiguan 1 (5N)2010 - 2015

Engines from the same line as VW Caxa engine

See Also

Audi Engine Logo

The 6.3-liter Audi engine, designated CEJA or A8 W12 6.3 FSI, was produced by the company from 2010 to 2013 and only installed in the highest versions of the A8L quattro sedan with the D4 body before the facelift. After the facelift of this model, this engine was replaced by an updated unit designated CTNA. The EA398 series also includes engines: - BDN, - BHT, and - BRN.

Audi Cdra Engine

The 4.2-liter Audi CDRA or A8 4.2 FSI engine was produced by the company from 2009 to 2012 and was only installed in the popular A8 sedan, in the D4 body version before restyling. The equivalent of this engine in the second generation of the Touareg crossover has its own index, CGNA. The EA824 series includes the following designations: ABZ, AEW, AXQ, BAR, BFM, BVJ, CEUA, and CRDB.

Audi Bdv engine

The 2.4-liter Audi BDV 2.4 V6 fuel-injected engine was produced by the company from 2001 to 2005 and installed only in two, but very popular models of the company at that time: A4 [B6] (/engines/mazda/engine/B6) and A6 C5. This powertrain is practically an environmentally improved version of the APS or ARJ engine. The EA835 series also includes the following engines: - [ALF] (/engines/audi/engine/ALF), - [ABC] (/engines/audi/engine/ABC), - [AAH] (/engines/audi/engine/AAH), - [ACK] (/engines/audi/engine/ACK), - [ALG] (/engines/audi/engine/ALG), - [ASN] (/engines/audi/engine/ASN), and - [BBJ] (/engines/audi/engine/BBJ).

Audi Caea engine

2.0-liter turbocharged engine Audi CAEA or A5 2.0 TFSI was installed by the company from 2008 to 2014 and installed in American versions of well-known models such as A4, A5, and Q5 crossover. The engine complied with ULEV 2 emission standards, and its European version, compliant with Euro 5 standards, was designated as CDNB. The EA888 gen2 series includes: CCZA, CCZB, CCZC, CCZD, CDNB, CDNC, and CAEB.

Audi AWX engine

The 1.9-liter Audi AWX 1.9 TDI diesel engine was installed by the corporation from 2000 to 2008 and was used in many models of the company with a longitudinal arrangement of the power unit. This diesel engine was commonly found under the hood of the fifth generation Passat and the first Skoda Superb. The EA188-1.9 engine includes: AJM ASZ AUY AVB AVF AXB AXC BKC BLS BXE

Toyota 1MZ-FE engine

The 3.0-liter Toyota 1MZ-FE engine was produced from 1993 to 2008 in the company's factories in Japan and the USA, and installed in numerous models of the Japanese automaker on all markets. Typically, two versions of the power unit are distinguished: with VVT-i intake phase regulator and without it. The MZ series also included engines: 2MZ-FE and 3MZ-FE.