VW BGU engine

The Volkswagen 1.6 BGU engine with a displacement of 1.6 liters was produced by the company only from 2003 to 2005 and installed in models with the PQ35 platform, such as the VW Touran, Golf 5, Skoda Octavia, and Seat Altea. It is an Euro 4 compliant unit with DAD instead of DMRV, equipped with a secondary air system and EGR. EA113-1.6 Series: AEH AHL AKL ALZ ANA APF ARM AVU BFQ BSE BSF

Technical specifications of VW BGU 1.6 liter engine.

Exact capacity1595 cm³
Power systemdistributed injection
Engine power102 HP
Torque148 nm
Engine blockaluminum R4
Block headaluminum 8v
Cylinder diameter81 mm
Piston stroke.77.4 mm
Compression ratio10.5
Engine featuresEGR, EPC
Hydraulic compensator. tak
Timing drivebelt
Timing phase adjusterthere is no
Turbochargingthere is no
What oils to use4.5 liters 5W-40 *
Fuel type92
Environmental classEURO 4
Approximate life expectancy340 000 HP

Fuel consumption VW BGU engine

Using the example of the 2004 Volkswagen Touran with a manual gearbox:
City10.9 litry
Route6.2 litry
Mixed7.8 litry

Engine Overview and Common Failures

The engine number BGU is located at the front, at the junction of the engine and the transmission. It is a simple and reliable engine, but it can cause some concerns at high mileage. Most often, it is criticized for oil consumption due to ring deposits, but this happens closer to 200,000 km. There are many issues with the ignition system here: contacts oxidize, the coil cracks. According to the manuals, the timing belt should be replaced every 90,000 km, and if it breaks, the valves bend. The exhaust manifold often cracks, as well as the plastic tee of the cooling system.

Engine Vw Bgu

A3 2 (8P)2003 - 2005
Octavia 2 (1Z)2004 - 2005
Altea 1 (5P)2004 - 2005
Toledo 3 (5P)2004 - 2005
Caddy 3 (2K)2003 - 2005
Golf 5 (1K)2004 - 2005
Golf Plus 1 (5M)2004 - 2005
Touran 1 (1T)2003 - 2005

See Also

VW Bag engine

The 1.6-liter petrol engine Volkswagen BAG 1.6 FSI was produced from 2003 to 2006 and installed in the fifth generation of the Golf model, the first Touran model, and the Audi A3 with the 8P body type. This engine was quickly replaced by updated versions of the FSI engines. The EA111-FSI line includes engines with the following codes: ARR, BKG, BAD, and BLF.

VW Alz engine

The 1.6-liter Volkswagen 1.6 ALZ engine was produced at the company's factories from 2000 to 2010 and installed in both the upgraded fifth-generation Passat and immediately in three generations of the Audi A4. This power unit was designed for longitudinal placement under the car's hood. EA113-1.6 Series: AEH AHL AKL ANA APF ARM AVU BFQ BGU BSE BSF

Audi Abt engine

The 2.0-liter fuel-injected engine Audi 2.0 ABT was produced at the factory from 1991 to 1996 and was only installed in the popular fourth generation model 80 in the B4 body style on our market. This powertrain was equipped with a rather temperamental Mono-Motronic fuel injection system. The EA827-2.0 engine range includes the following units: 2E, AAD, AAE, ABF, ABK, ACE, ADY, and AGG.

Audi Engine Deca

The 2.9-liter Bi-Turbo Audi DECA engine is produced by the German corporation since 2017 and is only installed in the current generation of sport models such as RS4 or RS5. A similar turbocharged engine is also used in the Audi S6 and S7 as DKMB, as well as in Porsche cars as MDC.AB. The EA839 line also includes engines labeled as: CZSE, CWGD, and DLZA.

Nissan Td42 engine

The 4.2-liter Nissan TD42 diesel engine was first introduced to the market in 1987 and was designed for the new generation of the Patrol off-road vehicle or its Japanese counterpart, the Safari. This engine continues to be popular in automotive markets with lenient emission standards. The TD engine series includes: TD23, TD25, TD27, TD27T, TD27Ti, TD27ETi, and TD42T.

Toyota 1C-T engine

The 1.8-liter turbodiesel Toyota 1C-T was produced by the company from 1982 to 1985 and was only installed in the European version of the Camry model and its Japanese counterpart, the Vista V10. Due to the transverse engine mounting, it was called 1C-TL or 1C-TLC in the version with a catalytic converter. The C series includes: 1C, 2C, 2C-E, 2C-T, 2C-TE, 3C-E, 3C-T, and 3C-TE.