VW BWK Engine

The 1.4-liter turbocharged Volkswagen BWK 1.4 TSI engine was produced from 2007-2008 and was only installed in the basic versions of the popular Tiguan model in our market. This powertrain was quickly replaced by the Euro 5 engine marked with the symbol CAVA. The EA111-TSI series also includes: CAVD, CBZA, CBZB, BMY, CAVA, CAXA, CDGA, and CTHA.

Technical specifications of VW BWK 1.4 TSI engine.

Exact capacity1390 cm³
Power systemdirect injection
Engine power150 HP
Torque240 nm
Engine blockcast iron R4
Block headaluminum 16v
Cylinder diameter76.5 mm
Piston stroke.75.6 mm
Compression ratio10
Engine featuresDOHC
Hydraulic compensator. tak
Timing drivechain
Timing phase adjusteron the suction shaft
TurbochargingKKK K03 i Eaton TVS
What oils to use3.6 liters 5W-30
Fuel type98
Environmental classEURO 4
Approximate life expectancy240 000 HP

Fuel consumption VW BWK Engine

Using the example of the 2008 Volkswagen Tiguan with a manual gearbox:
City10.1 litry
Route6.7 litry
Mixed8.0 litry

Engine Overview and Common Failures

The weight of the BWK engine according to the catalog is 130 kg. The BWK engine number is located at the junction of the block and the gearbox. The intake valves on the left side clog up with carbon deposits, causing a decrease in compression. Additionally, due to detonation, the pistons simply burn out and it is better to replace them with forged ones. The oil control rings often become clogged around 100,000 km, resulting in an increase in oil consumption. The timing chain has a relatively short lifespan and often requires replacement at 100,000 km. The control valve and wastegate of the turbocharger regularly fail. Owners constantly complain about coolant leaks, usually around the intercooler area. Another unpleasant feature is periodic vibrations when starting cold.

Engine Vw Bwk

Tiguan 1 (5N)2007 - 2008

See Also

VW Auc Engine

The 1.0-liter, 8-valve Volkswagen AUC 1.0 MPi engine was produced from 2000 to 2005 and installed in compact models such as the Lupo or Polo, as well as their Seat counterparts. This power unit is the newest and most advanced in its family. The EA111-1.0 line also includes an engine with the code AER.

VW Engine Nz

The 1.3-liter fuel-injected engine Volkswagen 1.3 NZ was produced from 1985 to 1994 and installed in the most popular models of that era: Golf, Jetta, and Polo. This powertrain was primarily distinguished by the presence of the Digijet injection control system. The MH engine is also part of the EA111-1.3 line.

Volkswagen Bdn engine

The 4.0-liter Volkswagen BDN or Passat W8 4.0 engine was produced from 2001 to 2004 and was only installed in the highest version of the refreshed Passat B5 4.0 W8 4motion. This model also has another version of this engine marked as BDP. The EA398 series also includes engines: BHT, BRN, and CEJA.

VW CDAB engine

1.8-liter turbocharged Volkswagen CDAB 1.8 TSI engine was installed from 2009 to 2018 and was used exclusively in models of the German group intended for emerging markets. This powertrain differs from the analogous CDAA engine with different Euro 4 compliant software. The EA888 gen2 lineup also includes: CDAA, CDHA, and CDHB.

Audi Engine CEUA

The 4.0-liter Audi CEUA or A8 4.0 TFSI engine was produced by the company in the years 2012-2013 and installed in versions with forced induction of the popular sedan A8 in the D4 body before the facelift. After the facelift of this model, this engine made way for a more powerful unit with the CTGA index. The EA824 series includes: ABZ, AEW, AXQ, BAR, BFM, BVJ, CDRA, and CRDB.

Waz 1111 engine

The 0.65-liter engine with a VAZ 1111 carburetor was produced from 1988 to 1996 in Togliatti and was exclusively installed in the similar, small-sized Oka brand car. This powertrain is practically half of the 1.3-liter engine from the Lada 2108 model. The Oka family also includes the engine: 11113.