VW Cava engine

The 1.4-liter Volkswagen CAVA 1.4 TSI engine was produced by the company from 2008 to 2015 and was only installed in the basic versions of the very popular Tiguan crossover here. This power unit is actually a Euro 5 version of the well-known engine with the BWK index. The EA111-TSI engine includes: CAVD, CBZA, CBZB, BMY, BWK, CAXA, CDGA, and CTHA.

Technical specifications of VW CAVA 1.4 TSI 150 hp engine.

Exact capacity1390 cm³
Power systemdirect injection
Engine power150 HP
Torque240 nm
Engine blockcast iron R4
Block headaluminum 16v
Cylinder diameter76.5 mm
Piston stroke.75.6 mm
Compression ratio10
Engine featuresDOHC
Hydraulic compensator. tak
Timing drivechain
Timing phase adjusterat the inlet
TurbochargingKKK K03 i Eaton TVS
What oils to use3.6 liters 5W-30
Fuel type98
Environmental classEURO 5
Approximate life expectancy260 000 HP

Fuel consumption VW Cava engine

Using the example of the 2010 Volkswagen Tiguan with a manual transmission:
City10.1 litry
Route6.6 litry
Mixed7.9 litry

Engine Overview and Common Failures

The weight of the CAVA engine according to the catalog is 130 kg. The engine number CAVA is located at the junction of the block and the gearbox. Many engine problems are related to detonation due to the quality of the fuel consumed. From poor gasoline, pistons simply crack and many replace them with forged ones. Intake valves quickly clog up with carbon deposits and compression drops in the cylinders. The timing chain has undergone many modifications, but it rarely lasts more than 100,000 km. The electronic control valve often fails in the turbocharger, as well as its wastegate. The source of coolant leakage is most often found in the area of the intercooler.

Engine Vw Cava

Sharan 2 (7N)2010 - 2015
Tiguan 1 (5N)2008 - 2015

See Also

VW engine CJZB

The 1.2-liter Volkswagen CJZB 1.2 TSI engine was produced by the corporation from 2012 to 2018 and installed in popular models such as the Golf 7, Seat Leon, and Skoda Octavia. There was also a slightly more powerful version of this engine with 90 horsepower, identified by the code CJZC. The EA211-TSI line includes: CJZA, CHPA, CXSA, CZCA, CZDA, CZEA, and DJKA.

VW AQP engine

The 2.8-liter 24-valve Volkswagen AQP 2.8 VR6 engine was produced from 1999 to 2002 and was only installed in the sport versions of the Golf 4 and the similar sedan, Bora. After a minor upgrade, this powertrain received a completely different index, AUE. The EA360 engine line also includes: AQP, ABV, and BUB.

VW Axz engine

The 3.2-liter Volkswagen AXZ 3.2 FSI petrol engine was produced from 2006 to 2010 and only installed in the all-wheel drive versions of the popular Passat model with the B6 body. Many mistake this VR6 engine for a similar V6 engine that was used in Audi. The EA390 line also includes the following engines: - BHK - BWS - CDVC - CMTA and - CMVA

VW CMTA engine

The 3.6-liter Volkswagen CMTA 3.6 FSI engine was produced by the company from 2013 to 2018 and was only installed in the second generation of the popular Touareg SUVs on our market. This powertrain is actually a lower power version of the CGRA engine. The EA390 line also includes the following engines: - AXZ, - BHK, - BWS, - CDVC, and - CMVA.

Hyundai G4er Engine

The 1.5-liter 16-valve Hyundai G4ER engine was produced by the company from 1995 to 2000 and used in the first generation of the Accent model and its various variations, such as Excel or Verna. This power unit is known by a completely different index, G4FK, in many sources. The Alpha series also includes: G4EA, G4EB, G4EC, G4ED, G4EE, G4EH, and G4EK.

Toyota 1UR-FE engine

The 4.6-liter Toyota 1UR-FE engine was introduced in 2006 as a power unit for SUVs, full-size pickups, and luxury models in emerging markets. Its main difference compared to the 1UR-FSE is the fuel supply system: distributed fuel injection instead of direct injection. The UR family also includes the following engines: 1UR-FSE, 2UR-GSE, 2UR-FSE, and 3UR-FE.