Volkswagen Cavd engine

The 1.4-liter Volkswagen CAVD engine was produced in Mladá Boleslav from 2008 to 2018 and installed in popular models such as the Golf, Jetta, Tiguan, and Scirocco. This powertrain is characterized by the presence of both a turbocharger and mechanical supercharging. The EA111-TSI engines include: CBZA, CBZB, BMY, BWK, CAVA, CAXA, CDGA, and CTHA.

Technical specifications of VW CAVD 1.4 TSI engine.

Exact capacity1390 cm³
Power systemdirect injection
Engine power160 HP
Torque240 nm
Engine blockcast iron R4
Block headaluminum 16v
Cylinder diameter76.5 mm
Piston stroke.75.6 mm
Compression ratio10
Engine featuresturbo+compressor
Hydraulic compensator. tak
Timing drivechain
Timing phase adjusterat the inlet
TurbochargingKKK K03 i Eaton TVS
What oils to use3.6 liters 5W-30
Fuel type98
Environmental classEURO 5
Approximate life expectancy220 000 HP

Fuel consumption Volkswagen Cavd engine

Volkswagen Scirocco 2012 with manual transmission:
City8.7 litry
Route5.4 litry
Mixed6.6 litry

Engine Overview and Common Failures

The weight of the CAVD engine according to the catalog is 130 kg. The engine number of the CAVD is located at the junction of the block and the gearbox. This turbo engine is very demanding in terms of fuel quality and prone to detonation. Like all direct injection units, it suffers from carbon buildup on the valves. The timing chain has a modest lifespan; it is often replaced before reaching 100,000 km. Oil consumption issues are not as common here, but there are still complaints about oil consumption. The weak points of the engine include the wastegate turbine and the regularly leaking intercooler.

Engine Volkswagen Cavd

Beetle 2 (5C)2011 - 2016
Eos 1 (1F)2008 - 2015
Golf 5 (1K)2008 - 2009
Golf 6 (5K)2008 - 2013
Jetta 5 (1K)2008 - 2010
Jetta 6 (1B)2010 - 2018
Scirocco 3 (137)2008 - 2017
Tiguan 1 (5N)2011 - 2018

See Also

VW Aqy Engine

The 2.0-liter eight-valve engine Volkswagen 2.0 AQY was produced from 1998 to 2002 and installed in the well-known Golf 4 model as well as many other counterparts, including the Skoda Octavia. There was also a version of this engine marked as EURO 2 with one lambda sensor and the APK index. The following engines also belong to the EA113-2.0 line: ALT, AXA, AQY, AZJ, AZM, and BSX.

VW BSX Engine

The 2.0-liter 8v Volkswagen BSX or 2.0 EcoFuel engine was produced from 2006 to 2015 and was only installed in the gas versions of the third generation Caddy and the first generation Touran. This power unit was essentially a factory modification of the well-known AQY engine to run on methane. The EA113-2.0 engine line also includes the following engines: ALT, APK, AXA, AZJ, and AZM.

VW Axz engine

The 3.2-liter Volkswagen AXZ 3.2 FSI petrol engine was produced from 2006 to 2010 and only installed in the all-wheel drive versions of the popular Passat model with the B6 body. Many mistake this VR6 engine for a similar V6 engine that was used in Audi. The EA390 line also includes the following engines: - BHK - BWS - CDVC - CMTA and - CMVA

Volkswagen Bws engine

The 3.6-liter VR6 engine Volkswagen BWS was produced in Germany from 2008 to 2015 and was installed in the most powerful versions of the Passat and Passat CC models, including versions with four-wheel drive. This engine differs from its predecessor with the index BLV by its intake and exhaust manifold. The EA390 line also includes the following engines: - AXZ, - BHK, - CDVC, - CMTA, and - CMVA.

VW BKC engine

The 1.9 liter 8-valve VW BKC 1.9 TDI diesel engine was installed from 2005 to 2010 and was used in many popular models of the VAG group, but it is best known for its application in the Passat B6. Among all similar versions, such as the BLS and BXE, this engine was the first to appear and was produced for the longest period. The EA188-1.9 family includes: AJM ASZ AUY AVB AVF AWX AXB AXC BLS BXE

Toyota 2L-T engine

The 2.4-liter turbo diesel engine Toyota 2LT was produced by the company from 1984 to 2001 and installed in both passenger cars, such as the Crown and Mark II, and in off-road vehicles like the Hilux Surf. During the 1988 upgrade, the camshafts were replaced with standard pushrods. The L series of diesel engines includes: 2L, 2L-TE, 2L-THE, 3L, 5L, and 5L-E.