VW BKC engine

The 1.9 liter 8-valve VW BKC 1.9 TDI diesel engine was installed from 2005 to 2010 and was used in many popular models of the VAG group, but it is best known for its application in the Passat B6. Among all similar versions, such as the BLS and BXE, this engine was the first to appear and was produced for the longest period. The EA188-1.9 family includes: AJM ASZ AUY AVB AVF AWX AXB AXC BLS BXE

Technical specifications of VW BKC 1.9 TDI engine.

Exact capacity1896 cm³
Power systeminjection pumps
Engine power105 HP
Torque250 nm
Engine blockcast iron R4
Block headaluminum 8v
Cylinder diameter79.5 mm
Piston stroke.95.5 mm
Compression ratio19
Engine featuresSOHC, intercooler
Hydraulic compensator. tak
Timing drivestrip
Timing phase adjusterthere is no
What oils to use3.8 liters 5W-40
Fuel typediesel
Environmental classEURO 3/4
Approximate life expectancy320 000 HP

Fuel consumption VW BKC engine

Using the example of a 2005 Volkswagen Passat with a manual transmission:
City7.4 litry
Route4.3 litry
Mixed5.7 litry

Engine Overview and Common Failures

These engines have a high strength reserve and breakages occur at high mileage. Unreliable fastening of the pump-injectors with one bolt often results in leaks. Due to the stuck geometry of the turbocharger, power losses frequently occur. Service technicians consider the tandem pump as one of the weak points of this diesel engine. The rocker arms and hydraulic compensators wear out quickly due to poor oil quality.

Engine Vw Bkc

A3 2 (8P)2004 - 2009
Altea 1 (5P)2004 - 2010
Leon 2 (1P)2005 - 2010
Toledo 3 (5P)2004 - 2009
Octavia 2 (1Z)2004 - 2010
Golf 5 (1K)2004 - 2008
Jetta 5 (1K)2005 - 2007
Passat B6 (3C)2004 - 2008
Touran 1 (1T)2004 - 2010

Engines from the same line as VW BKC engine

See Also

Audi Cfgb engine

The 2.0-liter CFGB or Audi TT 2.0 TDi diesel engine was produced from 2009 to 2015 and installed in models such as the Golf, Passat, Sharan, as well as the Seat Alhambra and Skoda Superb. This unit belongs to the second generation of the EA189 engine and is a modernized version of the CBBB engine. The EA189 engine lineup includes: CAAC, CAYC, CAGA, CAHA, CBAB, CFCA, CLCA, and CLJA.

Audi Afb engine

The 2.5-liter Audi AFB 2.5 TDI diesel engine was produced by the company from 1997 to 1999 and installed in popular models such as the Audi A4 [B5], Audi A6 C5, Audi A8 D2, and Volkswagen Passat [B5]. After being upgraded to meet the newer EURO 3 emission standards, the diesel engine was re-designated as AKN. The EA330 line also includes the following engines: AKE, AKN, AYM, BAU, BDG, and BDH.

Audi Aym engine

The 2.5-liter engine Audi AYM 2.5 TDI was produced by the German company from 2001 to 2003 and installed in popular models of the group, such as Audi A4 B6, Audi A6 C5, and Skoda Superb. This engine was a design intermediate between the A series and B series engines. The EA330 line also includes the following engines: AFB, AKE, AKN, BAU, BDG, and BDH.

VW engine BDH

The 2.5-liter Volkswagen BDH 2.5 TDI diesel engine was produced from 2004 to 2006 and installed in the Passat B5 model, as well as in Audi models such as the A6 C5 and the convertible based on the A4 B6. This powertrain essentially represented an updated version of the well-known BAU engine, compliant with Euro 4 emission standards. The EA330 line also includes other engines: AFB, AKE, AKN, AYM, BAU, and BDG.

Audi Cdnb engine

The 2.0-liter turbocharged petrol engine Audi CDNB 2.0 TFSI was produced from 2008 to 2014 and installed as a power unit in popular models such as A4, A5, A6, and Q5. There was a similar engine labeled CAEA, which met strict ULEV emission standards in the United States. The EA888 gen2 series includes: CAEA, CCZA, CCZB, CCZC, CCZD, CDNC, and CAEB.

VW Cjsa Engine

The 1.8-liter turbocharged gasoline engine Volkswagen CJSA 1.8 TSI has been produced since 2012 and installed in medium-sized models of the group, such as the Passat, Touran, Octavia, and Audi A3. There is a version of this powertrain for all-wheel drive cars marked as CJSB. The EA888 gen3 series includes: CJSB, CJEB, CJXC, CHHA, CHHB, CNCD, and CXDA.