Audi AKF engine

3.3-liter Audi AKF or A8 3.3 TDI diesel engine was produced from 2000 to 2002 and installed only in the first generation of the A8 sedan after facelift. It is the only V8 diesel engine with a belt-driven timing system; subsequent versions were equipped with a chain drive system. The EA898 series also includes: ASE, BTR, CKDA, and CCGA.

Technical specifications of Audi AKF 3.3 TDI engine.

Exact capacity3328 cm³
Power systemCommon Rail
Engine power224 HP
Torque480 nm
Engine blockcast iron V8
Block headaluminum 32v
Cylinder diameter78.3 mm
Piston stroke.86.4 mm
Compression ratio18.0
Engine featuresintercooler
Hydraulic compensator. tak
Timing drivestrip
Timing phase adjusterthere is no
TurbochargingGarrett GTA1749V
What oils to use6.0 liters 5W-40
Fuel typediesel
Environmental classEURO 3
Approximate life expectancy250 000 HP

Fuel consumption Audi AKF engine

Using the example of the 2001 Audi A8 3.3 TDI with an automatic transmission:
City13.9 litry
Route7.3 litry
Mixed9.7 litry

Engine Overview and Common Failures

The weight of the AKF engine according to the catalog is 220 kg. The AKF engine number is located under the exhaust of the 4th cylinder. The most well-known problem with this engine is the rapid wear of the camshafts. In addition, rocker arms often get damaged and hydraulic compensators require replacement. The second most common issue is related to fuel system failures: injectors and fuel injection pumps can malfunction. Pay close attention to the condition of the timing belt, as valve failure can cause damage. Turbos, mass air flow sensors, and the cooling system are also known weak points.

Engine Audi Akf

A8 D2 (4D)2000 - 2002

Engines from the same line as Audi AKF engine

See Also

VW Jk engine

The Volkswagen JK 1.6 D, a 1.6-liter diesel engine, was produced by the Volkswagen Group from 1980 to 1989 and was installed in popular models of that time, such as the second generation Passat and the similar Audi 80 B2. This naturally aspirated diesel engine had a smooth character and was also very durable. The EA086 series also includes the following engines: JP, JX, SB, 1X, 1Y, AAZ, and ABL.

Audi Afb engine

The 2.5-liter Audi AFB 2.5 TDI diesel engine was produced by the company from 1997 to 1999 and installed in popular models such as the Audi A4 [B5], Audi A6 C5, Audi A8 D2, and Volkswagen Passat [B5]. After being upgraded to meet the newer EURO 3 emission standards, the diesel engine was re-designated as AKN. The EA330 line also includes the following engines: AKE, AKN, AYM, BAU, BDG, and BDH.

VW engine BDH

The 2.5-liter Volkswagen BDH 2.5 TDI diesel engine was produced from 2004 to 2006 and installed in the Passat B5 model, as well as in Audi models such as the A6 C5 and the convertible based on the A4 B6. This powertrain essentially represented an updated version of the well-known BAU engine, compliant with Euro 4 emission standards. The EA330 line also includes other engines: AFB, AKE, AKN, AYM, BAU, and BDG.

Audi Ael engine

The 2.5-liter Audi AEL 2.5 TDI diesel engine was produced by the company from 1994 to 1997 and was only installed in one, but very popular in our market, model: the A6 with the C4 body version. This 5-cylinder diesel engine stood out for its stronger turbocharging and injectors compared to other models in the series. The EA381 series also includes: , CN, AAS, AAT, BJK, and AHD.

Hyundai G4kh engine

The 2.0-liter turbocharged engine Hyundai-Kia G4KH or 2.0 Turbo GDi has been produced since 2010 and installed in sport versions of models such as Sonata, Optima, Sorento, and Sportage. There is a version of this engine designed for longitudinal placement with the designation G4KL. Theta Line: G4KA G4KC G4KD G4KE G4KF G4KG G4KJ G4KM G4KN

Volkswagen engine Cxda

The 2.0-liter Volkswagen CXDA engine has been produced by the German corporation since 2016 and is mainly installed on models Atlas, Passat, Tiguan, and Golf GTI, primarily in the American market. In customs union countries, this powertrain is known for the Teramont crossover. The EA888 gen3 series includes: CJSA, CJSB, CJEB, CJXC, CHHA, CHHB, and CNCD.